Happy New Year!

Back in the early, early days, when an idea for a book began niggling in the back of my brain (shortly after our house burned down after a bad electrical storm), I walked outside to listen to the wind. In far southwestern Oklahoma outside the college town of Weatherford, Oklahoma, the wind is a constant and often after a storm the departing clouds reminded me of mountains looming on the horizon.


Anyway, as I was listening to the wind in the junipers, I was struck by a “bolt out of the blue,” and the whole idea for the Voice of the Wind series was born. After being struck, I walked back inside the trailer house we were living in at that time and picked up Kahlil Gibran’s book, The Prophet. I opened the small book, opened it to a random page, and read the following:


“He alone is great who turns the voice of the wind into a song made sweeter by his own loving.”


And so, the theme of what was to become the first three books in the Voice of the Wind series was born into a full-blown reality, along with the characters and stories that continue to inspire me.

Leave a comment